Skip to content ↓

Tutor groups and houses


At Hope Valley College we believe that students will achieve their full potential if they are happy, recognise that they belong to the college and have support if they are struggling. Their well-being is of paramount importance. We pride ourselves on the well-developed pastoral system that is embedded in everything we do.

We have three houses Derwent, Howden, and Ladybower. These form the family that students belong to during their journey through the College. Siblings will always be placed in the same house.


Tutor groups

Due to the Covid-19 regulations we have changed from vertical tutor groups to year group tutor groups. This will keep students in year group 'bubbles'. 

Each year group will be put into tutor groups and named HOPE (for example 8H, 8O, 8P, 8E); this will be familiar to students as these are used for teaching groups, particularly in Key Stage 3.  We will not be keeping these groups in every subject where other groupings (within the year groups) will still apply.  As we put tutor groups together, we are taking into account what we know about our young people and their friendships etc.  Please contact us if you have any questions or concerns about your child’s tutor group once we have shared these details

Year 7:

  • 7H: Mr Griffin and Ms Powis
  • 7O: Mr Hill
  • 7P: Ms Nicklin
  • 7E: Mrs Whitehall


Year 8:

  • 8H: Ms Bower
  • 8O: Ms Bradley and Ms Topley
  • 8P: Mr Rasool and Mr O’Reily


Year 9:

  • 9H: Ms Carter and Ms Elliott
  • 9O: Mr Taylor
  • 9P: Mr Thomas and Mrs Moses
  • 9E: Mrs Oldfield


Year 10:

  • 10H: Ms Hayes
  • 10O: Ms Worral and Ms Norman
  • 10P: Mrs Hale
  • 10E: Mrs Foster and Ms Kirkham


Year 11:

  • 11H: Mr Scorer
  • 11O: Mrs Rumpel
  • 11P: Ms Wade and Mrs Porter
  • 11E: Mr Streets


Heads of Year

Another change will be that our staff formerly known as Senior House Tutors will take responsibility for a year group or key stage so Mrs E Scorer will be the point of contact for Y7, Mr M Fitton for Y8 and Y9 and Mr A Jenkinson for Y10 and Y11. They will still keep an oversight of the house system but as we cannot mix year groups their focus will be on the year group rather than the house. Their contact details are:


Student support

In addition to this we have three Pastoral Officers:

  • Ms S Daniel
  • Mr R Robinson
  • Mrs K Salisbury

Pastoral Officers offer a triage system of extra help when student’s needs are more complex. They will offer support and guidance on a regular basis to the individual students allocated to them and, when necessary, develop strong relationships with parents.

Mrs R Taylor is our College counsellor. Students who will benefit from the extra, specialised support of a counsellor are referred to her through pastoral staff.

And finally Mr R Griffin, our SENCO, is a member of the Senior Guidance Team and makes a valuable contribution to our work.